Becoming Friends

It’s been a whole year since we broke apart
You left me standing alone with a broken heart
I told myself its the end, goodbye
I don’t like you and you know why
You went away and I stayed behind
Picking up the memories I can find
One day, you came back with a new lady
She got you back on your feet and crazy
You love her, I see it in your eyes
If you end up marrying her, it won’t be a surprise
You rubbed it in my face and held her tight
You took away the happiness and the light
But then you left her and took me aside to talk
Finally, after a long time, we slowed down, we walked
You want to be friends and dreaming of something more
This is the new beginning so go open that door.

Leave a Reply

