Ants Fable

A little tale about a tale about ants that my mother told me…

We woke up to an ant infestation. My little sister, Bea was panicking because the ants are trying to attack her by crawling on her arm. She was also annoyed and distressed that ants are invading her playhouse and she doesn’t understand where they are coming from. I told her its okay and we were just going to vacuum them up later because I still need to make breakfast. I left her there and soon she was screaming again because she wanted to go to the kitchen but her path was blocked by a dozen ants walking back and forth looking for stray crumbs or bits of fluff they are able to carry to their undiscovered home. I had to help her across so she can go to the kitchen but was, of course, met with the dilemma of crossing the same line to go back into the living room again. Anyways, I finished making breakfast and Bea was eager to report the ant infestation to my mum who had just come down the stairs. My mum told her that it’s okay and that once breakfast is finished we will sort it out.

*cue moral story about ants*

While we were having breakfast, my mum just randomly said that she felt sorry for the ants because they are being killed. She said that the ants are so cold in the winter that they hibernate under the soil just so they can survive and once summer comes around the soil will be too hot and just like people they want to enjoy the hot weather but instead people are trying to kill them by vacuuming them up or drowning them with wet wipes or water (which is really sad if you really think about it). This got me thinking about the little ants’ feelings and how we need to let them enjoy their summer holidays too (although they did eat the lemon cake and have been hanging around and on the dining room table for 2 weeks now).

So, the moral of the story is that ants shouldn’t be killed because they have lives and (families) too, so they deserve a little break… unless they start eating the food again then that is when I draw the line!Β 

Leave a Reply

